Skip to main

Six Duke Faculty Hone Skills as Academic Leaders

Update 4/8/24: Joe Izatt, the Michael J. Fitzpatrick Professor of Engineering and chair of Duke’s Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME), passed away on April 7, 2024. Since joining Duke in 2001, Izatt served the university through dedicated service to his students and colleagues, and as a pioneering researcher. During his tenure as chair of Duke BME, he championed the successes of all within the community and worked with faculty, staff and students to ensure the department supported their goals. In a message to the Duke Engineering community, Pratt School Dean Jerome Lynch celebrated Izatt’s career and leadership. “He was an exceptionally thoughtful leader who weighed every decision with a care that originated with his deep love for the BME community. The integrity and humility he brought as a school leader will be missed.”

Six Duke faculty members have been selected for fellowships to build skills in equity-centered academic leadership. Five of them will serve as Ivy+ Provost Leadership Fellows, and one as an Ivy+ Mellon Leadership Fellow.

They will take part in the second annual Institute on Inquiry, Equity and Leadership in the Academic Department, organized by the Ivy+ Faculty Advancement Network (FAN), along with scholars from 12 other universities. Duke is a founding member of FAN and graduated five inaugural Ivy+ Provost Leadership Fellows in the spring.

This leadership development opportunity is part of Duke Faculty Advancement’s portfolio of programs to support faculty at important stages of their careers and complement existing programs at the school and department level. Deans were invited to nominate faculty members in different disciplines who hold leadership positions in their schools.

2023-2024 Duke Ivy+ Provost Leadership Fellows

Katherine Brading

Professor of Philosophy and Chair of the Department of Philosophy, Trinity College of Arts & Sciences

Darren Gobert

William and Sue Gross Professor of Theater Studies and Chair of the Department of Theater Studies, Trinity College of Arts & Sciences

Joe Izatt

Michael J. Fitzpatrick Distinguished Professor of Engineering and Chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, Pratt School of Engineering

Jennifer Nash

Jean Fox O’Barr Women’s Studies Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Department of Gender, Sexuality & Feminist Studies, Trinity College of Arts & Sciences

Jay Pearson

H. M. Foundation Associate Professor of Public Policy and Associate Dean of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, Sanford School of Public Policy

2023-2024 Duke Ivy+ Mellon Leadership Fellow

Lauren Ginsberg

Associate Professor of Classical Studies and Director of Graduate Studies, Department of Classical Studies, Trinity College of Arts & Sciences

What’s Next

Beginning with a two-day kickoff at Columbia later this month, the institute is designed to help faculty leaders in the work they are already doing as chairs and in similar roles.

From October through April, participants will meet virtually and in person to explore the systems shaping the academic profession and learn more about how faculty can influence it. The Duke fellows will work on ideas that advance the university’s commitment to inclusive excellence and directly benefit their own departments and disciplines.

In addition to taking local action, Provost Leadership Fellows will collectively design equity-oriented initiatives and propose them to a panel of subject-matter experts at the culminating event in April. Mellon Leadership Fellows will take part in the institute as well as other activities for a longer period of time.

About the Ivy+ Faculty Advancement Network (FAN)

FAN is a consortium of national research universities collaborating to advance diversity and inclusion in the American professoriate. Last year marked the launch of FAN’s new Institute on Inquiry, Equity and Leadership in the Academic Department.

Earlier this year, FAN received a grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation to launch the Ivy+ Mellon Leadership Fellows program, which aims to increase the representation of humanities faculty members in high-level administrative roles. The cohort will undergo a comprehensive program of skill development in academic leadership and governance over a period of at least two years.

Caption for main image: Katherine Brading, Darren Gobert, Joe Izatt, Jennifer Nash, Jay Pearson, Lauren Ginsberg